Short Bio

I am a Senior Researcher at Nimbus Research Centre.

I obtained my PhD in Information and Communication Technology from the University of Trento, Italy, under the supervision of Prof. Gian Pietro Picco and Dr. Amy Murphy. I was also a member of the D3S research group.

In 2002/2003 I have received a B.Sc./M.Sc. degree in Computer Science from the Faculty of Automation and Computer Science at Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania. From 2002 to 2010 I've been with the Computer Science Department at Technical University of Cluj-Napoca.

Recent Selected Publications

My full publication list is available here.

  1. V. Cionca, R. Marfievici, R. Katona and D. Pesch, "JudiShare: Judicious Resource Allocation for QoS-based Services in Shared Wireless Sensor Networks", To appear in WCNC 2018.

  2. R. Marfievici, P. Corbalan, D. Rojas, A. McGibney, S. Rea and D. Pesch, "Tales from the C130 Horror Room: A Wireless Sensor Network Story in a Data Center", [pdf], FAILSAFE Workshop 2017.

  3. I.S.A. Dhanapala, R. Marfievici, S. Palipana, P. Agrawal and D. Pesch, "Modeling WiFi Traffic for White Space Prediction in Wireless Sensor Networks", [pdf], IEEE LCN 2017.
    The extended version of this paper: [pdf]

  4. P. Corbalan, R. Marfievici, V. Cionca, D. O'Shea and D. Pesch, "Into the SMOG: The Stepping Stone To Centralized WSN Control", [pdf], IEEE MASS 2016.

  5. I.S.A. Dhanapala, R. Marfievici, P. Agrawal and D. Pesch, "Poster: Towards Detecting WiFi Aggregated Interferance for Wireless Sensors based on Traffic Modelling", [pdf], DCOSS 2016.

  6. P. Corbalan, V. Cionca, R. Marfievici, D. O'Shea and D. Pesch, "Poster: Building a Stairway to Centralised WSN Control", [pdf], ACM EWSN 2016. Best Poster Award.

Professional Activites

CPSBench 2018 - Publicity Chair
IoTDI Poster&Demo 2018 - TPC member
FAILSAFE 2017 - Panel member
SENSORCOMM 2017 - TPC member
IPSN 2016 - Shadow PC member
CPSWeek 2015 - Publicity Chair
EWSN 2012 - Webmaster

Peer reviewer for: ACM Transactions on Sensor Networks (2017), Elsevier Pervasive and Mobile Computing (2015, 2016), Springer Wireless Networks (2015, 2016, 2017), Springer Mobile Networks and Applications (2015), IEEE MDM 2011.

Membership co-chair for N2Women 2016-2017.